Bi-Carb Soda and Apple Cider Vinegar……..ahhh you’re thinking ~ she must be baking??  Tending to her sun-burnt skin??  Cleaning up another red wine spillage??

Nope ~ I’m washing my hair! 

Last night I whipped up a little home-made concoction for Shampoo + Conditioner…..and loved it!  It’s a bit of trial and error; I think I may have used a little too much Bi-Carb Soda, and should probably not have used such scorching hot water with the Vinegar 😉

This is my simple recipe; so basic that you can pretty much add anything you like to it to spruce it up!

Shampoo:

  • 1/2 cup Bi-Carb Soda
  • 3 cups lukewarm water

Mix together well, and voila!  It’s ready to go..

Conditioner:

  • 3/4 cup Apple Cider Vinegar
  • 1 Ltr lukewarm water
  • Any natural essential oil that you wish to use, to help mask the scent of the vinegar.

Mix together well.  Use on the roots to wash any Bi-Carb Soda residue out, and then rinse through the ends also.

Note 1: I used Tinderbox Essential Lavender Oil (available at any good Health Food Shops, and made in the beautiful Balingup of South-West Oz), as it has an amazing strong scent to it, however I think next time I will try to find a natural Vanilla Oil or even Lemongrass Oil ~ they might mix better with the scent of the vinegar.. 

Note 2: I could vaguely smell the vinegar on my damp hair after the shower, however can not smell it at all now that its dry!

I will say that this was a massive change to my normal hair washing routine, particularly the part where I couldn’t for the life of me get a comb through my hair when it was still damp after the shower.  Instead, I used the trusty old Moroccan Hair Oil, wrapped it up in a bun, and this morning when I woke up it brushed out fine.

Also….watch this space for home-made natural ideas for Leave-in Hair Conditioners/Oils. 

In case you didn’t believe me that my hair didn’t fall out or turn a manky green colour ~ see below 🙂

I’m loving it, my hair is super soft (think that’s the vinegar working it’s magic?) ~ let me know if you try it (or anything similar!)..

xoxo

TJ

